Phone Booking: 0131 228 1404
Baba Yaga
Shona Reppe, Christine Johnston & Rosemary Myers
Scotland / Australia
7-12 yrs

Curriculum for Excellence Resources

The clever use of puppetry, song and humour bring a new twist to an old tale.                        Suspense, uncertainty, ambiguity and the choices made can be explored further through Expressive Arts and Literacy

Opportunities for learning and curriculum links

Expressive Arts encourages learning approaches to promote a climate of creativity and innovation, including:

  • active involvement in creative activities and performances
  • opportunities to analyse, explore and reflect.

Literacy: I regularly select and listen to or watch texts which I enjoy and find interesting, and I can explain why I prefer certain sources.

LIT 1-01a / LIT 2-01a

Class Stage
P3-P7
Curriculum Links
Expressive Arts
Literacy and English
Traverse Theatre
Theatre seating
close
Traverse Theatre
Traverse Theatre, Edinburgh, EH1 2ED
  • Monday 28 May 19:15
  • Tuesday 29 May 11:00
  • Tuesday 29 May 13:45
  • Wednesday 30 May 10:30
  • Wednesday 30 May 13:45
  • Thursday 31 May 11:00
  • Thursday 31 May 14:00
  • Friday 1 June 11:00
  • Friday 1 June 19:15
  • Saturday 2 June 11:00
  • Saturday 2 June 15:30
  • Sunday 3 June 11:30

Duration: 60 minutes

Baba Yaga on Tour
Carnegie Hall, Dunfermline
  • Sunday 6 May 14:30
close
Carnegie Hall, Dunfermline
Carnegie Hall, Dunfermline, KY12 7JA
Perth Theatre
  • Wednesday 9 May 13:30
  • Wednesday 9 May 19:00
  • Thursday 10 May 10:00
  • Thursday 10 May 13:30
close
Perth Theatre
Perth Theatre, Perth , PH1 5HZ
The Lemon Tree, Aberdeen
  • Friday 11 May 13:30
  • Saturday 12 May 10:30
close
The Lemon Tree, Aberdeen
The Lemon Tree, Aberdeen, AB24 5AT
Mareel, Shetland
  • Tuesday 15 May 13:30
  • Tuesday 15 May 18:00
  • Wednesday 16 May 11:00
close
Mareel, Shetland
Mareel, Lerwick, ZE1 0WQ
Lyth Arts Centre
  • Thursday 17 May 18:30
  • Friday 18 May 10:30
close
Lyth Arts Centre
Lyth Arts Centre, Wick, KW1 4UD
Byre Theatre, St Andrews
  • Saturday 19 May 15:00
close
Byre Theatre, St Andrews
The Byre Theatre , St Andrews , KY16 9LA
Paisley Arts Centre
  • Tuesday 22 May 10:30
  • Tuesday 22 May 13:30
close
Paisley Arts Centre
Paisley Arts Centre, Paisley , PA1 1EZ
Beacon Arts Centre, Greenock
  • Thursday 24 May 10:30
  • Thursday 24 May 13:30
close
Beacon Arts Centre, Greenock
Beacon Arts Centre, Greenock, PA15 1HJ
Buccleuch Centre, Langholm
  • Friday 25 May 13:30
close
Buccleuch Centre, Langholm
Langholm

Commissioned by Imaginate and Windmill Theatre Co

Vaselina lives the quiet life, working as a receptionist in a very tall apartment block. But all that changes when she is forced to confront a terrifying resident who plays her music too loudly and eats jelly babies with her mouth open.

Who is this mysterious neighbour? Will she ever turn the music down? And what exactly is she planning for dinner?

An uproarious musical journey to the top floor and beyond, Baba Yaga is a brand new take on an old Russian folktale co-created by director Rosemary Myers and two unique and celebrated artists from opposite ends of the globe; Shona Reppe (Scotland) and Christine Johnston (Australia).

Baba Yaga is part of the Edinburgh International Children’s Festival on tour and is supported by the Scottish Government’s Edinburgh Festivals Expo Fund.

“It is a magical and mischievous delight; combining simple storytelling with lush and inventive images.” nytheatre.com on Cinderella

“One of the most imaginative shows for the young you will find. Highly sophisticated and great fun.” The Advertiser on Fluff

South Australia’s Windmill Theatre Company are masters of their trade.” The West Australian

 

 

 

Scottish Government EXPO Fund

Related Events